Holzheimer Memorial Student Scholarship for Economic Development Planning

2021 Winner

Holzheimer Memorial Scholarship Winner

Emma González Roberts

We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2021 EDD Holzheimer Memorial Student Scholarship. Emma González Roberts of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (currently Director of Community Engagement and Organizing at Bickerdike Redevelopment Corporation in Chicago) submitted the winning paper, titled "Rebuilding Main Street After COVID-19: Recommendations for and reflections from small and mid-sized American cities." The paper summarizes research conducted in summer 2020 in six U.S. cities in the northeast and midwest examining the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on downtown retail spaces. Based on a business survey and interviews with local officials, Emma’s paper offers practical recommendations for cities and their retail cores as they grapple with the fallout of business closures, commercial vacancy, and potential long-term decreases in downtown activity in the pandemic’s wake.

Honorable Mention:
  • The committee also acknowledged the following submission with “Honorable Mention” designation: Grace Yixian Zhou & Avi Gandhi (Cornell University), “Short Term Rentals: Economic Implications and Local Policy Response.”

2021 Scholarship Committee:

  • The 2021 Holzheimer Scholarship committee was comprised of: Dr. Greg Schrock of Portland State University (Chair); Dr. Li (Kerry) Fang of the University of Florida; Dr. Henry Renski of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst; Corey Proctor of Forrest County, Mississippi; Katie McConnell of Arlington (VA) Economic Development; and Emily Egan of the City of Elmhurst, Illinois.

The winning paper, and summaries of the honorable mention papers, can be found in the Spring edition of the Economic Development Division's News & Views Newsletter.

Previous Scholarship Winners

About the Holzheimer Scholarship

The Economic Development Division annually solicits applications for the Holzheimer Memorial Student Scholarship for Economic Development Planning. Master's-level students enrolled in or recently graduated from PAB-accredited planning programs, or other current student or recently graduated APA early-career members, are eligible to apply. The application system generally opens in late November, with the deadline in January (subject to change).

The scholarship is named in memory of longtime APA member and economic development visionary, Dr. Terry Holzheimer of Arlington County, Virginia and Virginia Tech. The $2,000 award is a scholarship provided by the APA's Economic Development Division. Winners are strongly encouraged, but not required, to use the award money to support attendance at the APA National Planning Conference. The application materials should include an original student paper or work that is 2,500 words or less (including citations and footnotes), and must include the name and contact information of a faculty member involved in supervising the student and/or the submitted work.